Panthers Solid On First Day Of Big Blue Classic

Friday, April 1 2011 - Big Blue Classic

Panthers win unique running of 4x400 hurdle relay

CHARLESTON, Ill. – Athletes waited out a 30-minute lighting delay and four teams ran what may be the first-ever competitive 4x400 hurdle relay event as day one of the EIU Big Blue Classic came to a close. 

EIU won the women’s 4x800 relay winning with a time of 9:10.58 as Erika RamosErika FoltysPaige Biehler and Megan Gingerich combined to win the event. 

Pat Tortorici won the men’s 400m hurdles as EIU placed in three of the top four spots. Tortorici won with a time of 52.13. Kris Gehrke was third at 52.94 and Chad Aubin was fourth at 53.08. 

Unattached competitor Brandon Pounds won the men’s hammer with a throw of 198’8” while Spencer Prince of Illinois State was the top collegiate finisher at 179’. Justin Roberts of EIU was fourth with a throw of 176’5” which ranks 8th on the EIU career list. 

Felisha Johnson of Indiana State won the women’s hammer with a throw of 198’3” which fell just five inches shy of the O’Brien Field record. 

Samantha Tomerlin of Western Michigan won the women’s 5K with a time of 16:59.97 while EIU’s Olivia Klaus placed 5th with a time of 17:40.51. Klaus’ time ranks 9th on the EIU career list. 

In what is believed to be the first running of a 4x400 hurdle relay. EIU defeated Indiana State in the men’s running with a time of 3:35.02. ISU posted a time of 3:38.67. In the women’s running of the event Western Michigan defeated Indiana State with a time of 4:16.85. ISU posted a 4:19.62. EIU’s men’s relay team consisted of Gehrke, Aubin, Preston Smith and Tortorici. 

Iris Campbell of Western Michigan won the women’s 400m hurdles with a time of 1:01.29. Scott Krapf of Illinois State won the men’s 5K with a time of 14:40.98. McKendree won the men’s 4x800 relay with a time of 7:46.10. 

Craig Padgett of Indiana State won the men's 10K with a time of 32:23.86.  Kylee Thacker won the women's 10K at 38:51.14.

Robert Webb of Indiana State won the decathlon at the Neil Moore Multi’s with 6145 points. Shelby Schaal of UW Milwaukee was the heptathlon with 4626 points. 

Saturday’s events begin at 10 a.m. with the javelin.