Indoor Track Ready For Friday Night Special

Thursday, February 19 2009 - Friday Night Special

Nearly 500 athletes expected for one day event

2009 indoor track action

CHARLESTON, Ill. - The Eastern Illinois indoor track and field team will be hosting one of the largest meets of the year when the Panthers compete in the Friday Night Special Meet on Friday afternoon in Lantz Indoor Fieldhouse. The event is scheduled to begin at 2 p.m. and last until roughly 9:30 p.m.

Nearly 500 athletes are expected to be on hand to compete in the Friday Night Special which serves as a warm-up for the Panthers for the OVC Championships next weekend. Schools scheduled to attend include: Eastern Illinois, Arkansas State, Butler, Illinois State, Illinois, Indiana State, Southern Illinois Carbondale, Evansville, and other open competitors from various junior colleges and track clubs.

Coming into the meet on Friday, the Panthers currently hold seven top marks in the OVC in their respective events. Freshman Zye Boey holds top times of 6.66 in the 60m and 20.93 in the 200m runs. Tyler Carter is tops in the 60m hurdles at 8.22. Marcus Williams is the leader with a time of 48.79 in the 400m. Current OVC co-male athlete of the week, David Holm has the best time in the 800m at 1:48.86. In the field events, EIU has two leaders: Ian Winston with a high jump of 6’10.25” and Joe Noonan in the pole vault at a height of 15’07.00”.

On the women’s side of track, the Panthers hold four top times. Shawana Smith is best at the 60m and 200m with times of 7.64 and 24.85 respectively. Chandra Golden has the top 60m hurdles time of 8.47. Bridget Sanchez is the leader with a time of 58.95 in the 400m. The women also have two field event leaders. Nicole Walcott tops the high jump list at 5’05.00” and Kandace Arnold has the best shot put throw at a distance of 47’05.75”.

The men’s team is currently ranked #31 in the nation in the latest weekly USTFCCCA poll. Next up after the Friday Night Special Meet, EIU will be host to the 2009 OVC Indoor Track and Field Championships on February 27-28.